Kyneton..a breath of fresh air!

For those of you that read 3Heartsoflife Monday Read last week ‘House at Hanging Rock‘, you would have known that  Richie and I got away to discover Kyneton last weekend. We enjoyed  a  couple of days out of the hustle and bustle of the city, to rejuvenate our senses inhale the fresh winters-air, indulge in the towns rich sweets, feast on the amazing food & wine & then recover in front of our open wood fire by night… bliss..

Richie and I booked into Highbank accommodation… which we were incredibly impressed by. Owners, Tonia and Michael have tastefully renovated the old bluestone stables and blacksmiths tack rooms into what I can strongly say is stunning accommodation!

We arrived Friday evening and although we booked in to the tack room – a PERFECT fit for a couple – Michael gave us a quick tour of the ‘stables’..my mouth dropped to the floor when I walked inside. I thought our accommodation was magnificent, the stables was just Divine!

As I got further into the Stables the more Michael explained how he had built elements of the structure, what he had reused, what was existing, as well as the history of where certain timber beams and furniture came from. A turquoise chest near the back of the living room was from a travelling circus many years ago!

Another detail I absolutely loved was the reuse of fireplace mouldings as the framing to an internal window

The Stables, In my opinion is PERFECT for a family, or two couples.. there is a front room and a second queen sized bedroom in the upstairs ‘attic’ just gorgeous!

Our Accommodation was smaller and slightly more intimate, and we loved this! a quaint and gorgeous extension of the tack room – a queen size bedroom, which connected to the all in one living, dining and kitchen area with an adjoining cute bathroom at the back. A working free standing fireplace naturally kept the space a toasty temperature at all times..and as Richie is a real outdoors lover he was given total control of keeping the fire alight..I think he was too excited by the challenge!

What I  really enjoyed the most were the thoughtful details. Tonia had asked Richie and I about certain foods we liked to eat a few weeks prior to our stay. Nonetheless we were greeted with a large basket of groceries (even my yummy almond milk request was attended to!)

The next morning I was blown away by the sunrise and took my camera outside …I couldn’t help myself clicking away at everything! I heard a noise and looked up to notice two beautiful horses only a foot away from me. What subjects to photograph!..Over the next 24 hours these horses (owned by Michael and Tonia) would come to visit us every chance they had.. they both had lovely personalities and were so happy to just stand and let us feed and pat them.

A yummy cooked breakfast was followed by a relaxing day discovering the town! 

Read here for more information on the History of Highbank and how to book cooking classes, Order roses from Tonia’s Rose garden, or  reserve accommodation – A MUST!

One thought on “Kyneton..a breath of fresh air!

Leave a comment