MONDAY MEAL: KEEPING IT GREEN

I wanted to stay true to the title of this weeks post..I don’t eat too much red meat, however when I do, I like to add a bit of ‘greenery’ to my dish. By this I mean GREEN in colour. If you haven’t noticed already I am quite a visual person and thoroughly enjoy pretty things.. translating all the way to the preparation and serving of my food.

SO this weeks MOnday meal makes tribute to a very Green Steak – A green crusted steak!

 INGREDIENTS

– STEAK of choice – I prefer an eye fillet

– 1 cup Pistachio nuts crushed

– 1 cup Wasabi peas crushed

– 1/4 cup pumpkin seeds

– Green Kale

– Edamame Beans

– olive oil (as needed)

METHOD

1. Crush the wasabi peas with a mortar and pestle or in a  grinder

2. Do the same with the de-shelled pistachio nuts.

3. mix the crushed peas and nuts and pumpkin seeds in a bowl and spread on a preparation plate.

4. Lightly oil your raw steak

5. Coat the steak in the green seed/pea mixture (the oil will help the mixture stick to the surface of the steak), warm the pan with oil.

6. Simultaneously Braise your kale in coconut oil, sprinkle some pumpkin seeds through AND boil your edamame beens…I like to sprinkle some of the remainder wasabi/pistachio mixture over the edemame add salt!

7. Cook the steak  to your liking, turning to cook both sides.

Serve up and present as pretty as you like!

2 thoughts on “MONDAY MEAL: KEEPING IT GREEN

  1. Great photos, very interesting concept garnishing the steak with pistachio nuts and wasabi peas. That sounds & looks amazing! who needs condiments (tom sauce, mustard) if the flavors of what you are cooking it with soak into the meat. Fantastic!

Leave a comment